Ted Sladden

Graham Woods

I understand from a friend of mine in Herne Bay, Kent that Ted Sladden died this week in a Nursing Home. Ted used to own the Canterbury Model Shop and I believe he was an active Thermal Soarer in the Kent Interclub events etc. back in the day. A jeweller and watchmaker by trade Ted was an excellent builder and designer of models and member of the Canterbury Pilgrims Model Flying Club. I recognise the names of several people on this forum who I know will have known Ted in his heyday.

• Sad 1
Nicholls

So many memories of Ted I'll have to come back later.

Rob Cavell

Oh dear knew him for donkeys years back to my freeflight days in Deal Swallows MAC, Ted was Canterbury Pilgrims.

Alas another Dynasty gone...RIP Ted condolences to son Chris.   

A little story not exactly about Ted but related,

A work college of mine when deciding whether to purchase a wrist watch from one of Teds jewellery shops in Canterbury made the comment  that a thousand pounds is a lot of money to put on your wrist, the manager immediately retorted "Heh...my governor spends that much on a toy aeroplane and then just throws it in the air!!!!!"     

Rob Cavell BARCS 78 (new recruit!!!)

EricF

I first met Ted in 1965 at the tender age of 17 when I joined the Canterbury Pilgrims MFC. The club used to fly at the Black Mill at Barham just off the A2 south of Canterbury and I lived in Dover but as I had just passed my driving test, I was able to borrow my Dad's van to travel the ten miles to get to the flying field on a Sunday.