Electric virgin asking stupid questions

thermaldoctor

thermaldoctor

Hi,Sorry to bother you all with such a stupid and basic question but I'm new to electrics and want to get this going asap.I find, that upon start up, the motor is very notchy and sometimes won't even run. if I spin the prop by hand and start it up it's fine.Set up is an overlander Tornado revolution 2200KV inrunner and speedo is also an overlander as part of their bundle for the cherub glider soI know it works. I have yet to program the speedo so it doesn't even have a brake yet but it is already successfully sorted with respect to basic operation.ThanksNeil Jones

• Committee Member

It sounds like it could be a faulty motor, could be a wire in the winding is broken in which case all you can do is send it back.Or its worth a try, swap over one of the three leads from the esc to the motor. It could be the motor will then run in reverse,If that happens swap over one of the other leads.Take the prop off before you put any power through the motor because if it bites you, you wont forget it in a hurry

thermaldoctor

Steve J said:

I would try changing the ESC's timing setting. Steve
Thanks I will give it a go. As I mentioned I've not programmed the speedo at all yet so this gives me something to go on.CheersNeil

thermaldoctor

PeteMitchell said:

It sounds like it could be a faulty motor, could be a wire in the winding is broken in which case all you can do is send it back.Or its worth a try, swap over one of the three leads from the esc to the motor. It could be the motor will then run in reverse, If that happens swap over one of the other leads.Take the prop off before you put any power through the motor because if it bites you, you wont forget it in a hurry