Sign in to follow this  
Woodstock

The Italian Job: Graecalis Aerobatic Glider

Woodstock

I am a lucky recipient of one of the first (I think it may be THE first) "craft kits" of this model to be built (and hopefully flown) outside of Italy, so I thought a build thread may be warranted.

So, some background: a group of Italian enthusiasts by the names of Giammarco, Stefano and ? (please help me guys, I get a bit mixed up who is who in the zoo!) decided to design and build a new aerobatic machine with a wingspan of just under 4 m. The design brief was to go for a look that was a bit different to current models, and, of course, great performance. 

To this latter end, a dedicated airfoil was designed for this project by Claudio Becchetti, he calls this foil "BEX 1809". Even though I'm no expert on foil design, I do know that the foil is key to a gliders' performance. Claudio emailed me this explanation: "an evolution of the famous RG15. Camber 1.8 to 48%, and thickness 9% to 28%. The RG has the least resistance to the natural profile but worsens with negative flap. The profile that I obtained, as well as more efficient RG, has a better performance in inverted flight, with the advantage of being able to decrease the resistance with very -2 ° of flaps allowing an acceleration that the RG does not have." That was enough to convince me :) !

Specs are:

wingspan: 380cm
fuselage length: 209cm
wing loading: 90g/dm2
weight: 8,5kg

You may notice that is one HUGE fuz :blink: ! I fell in love with the design of particularly the fuz, as it has a graceful curved underside, and a spectacular canopy that goes all the way back to the wing joiner position. The tailfeathers are a bit different to the norm in that, instead of the rather ubiquitous all-moving elevator with a cut-out for the rudder, the curvy rudder is instead given a prominent cut out to allow for the elevator on the fixed tailplane to move. More curves there than Sofia Loren (am I showing my age  :unsure: ?)!