Sign in to follow this  
friesian

DLG Noobie in Hertfordshire

friesian

Hi everyone,

I have been flying r/c for 15 years, and am now looking to scratch an itch that I have had for a long time......

I have built, flown and snapped my libelle and have decided to buy something a bit more serious. I am not looking to do any competitive flying, but would like some advice on whether I should look to buy a second hand model, or take the plunge and build my own. I do enjoy building, but am slightly daunted by what seem to be some very specific techniques......

Thanks in advice for any tips/advice/words of wisdom :)

mikef

Welcome to the Forum.

You want something a bit more serious so I'm guessing you are thinking of an F3K model even If you have no competition ambitions at the moment.

If you want high performance, building your own means composite construction and that is perhaps what you see as daunting.  Certainly a fully moulded model means tooling and that is a huge step.

Have a look at the Elf - it's ARTF and not too expensive - certainly a good option in terms of performance per money spent, and a step up from the Libelle.

The Elf type structure is relatively easy to build if you wanted to have a go - it's modern free-flight wing technology.

If you want the maximum performance, a full-size F3K is the answer.  I would avoid hollow-built wings, the solid core versions are much tougher.  The more you spend, the better they get to a large extent.

Second-hand is a good plan too.

There's a contest not far from you soon - you could come along and have a chat with some experienced people during the breaks - see the F3K and hand-launch section here.

friesian

Thanks Mike, I will see if I can get over there on the Sunday.....

I had looked at the Elf, but I think that I want to go for a full size with ailerons....