Sign in to follow this  
Andy Shutt

Hello From Leeds

Andy Shutt

Well, this is my first post on the site, so a little about myself, I have been flying for 43 years, firstly with free flight, then control line and then onto 2 channel radio via a MacGregor DigiMax II, (blue brushed anodized case), after learning to fly radio and how to trim an airframe I then moved up to a Futaba M Series 6 channel and graduated to low wing sports powered models, all this time I was reliant on my father to take me to flying sites so the slopes were then out of reach, eventually I passed my car test and saved for a car, a modest Vauxhall Cavalier, so with my own transport I put together a Phase 6 and a Solent Sailplanes Ridge Racer and headed out to such slopes as Tinkers, Baildon, Filey and one or two lesser known slopes around Yorkshire, all great fun. On the power side I started to compete at F3A aerobatics and later in the early IMAC UK events. At this stage I also married my long term partner and soon my first son arrived, I kept on flying both power and slope but the pull of the family reduced my flying sessions dramatically, after my second son arrived the family pull became too strong so I decided to give up model flying, this was around 1995. I came back to model flying when I saw a small sports electric model in a local field, so a trip to the model shop and £ 400 lighter I came away with a mid size sports electric model, the intention was just to fly as and when work and family commitments allowed and I swore I would not want to go any bigger or faster, well that lasted until the end of the first flight, within a week I have a 3W 50cc on order along with a nice Glenn's Models Sukhoi SU-26. Since then I have flown large aerobatic models and eventually jet turbine models.