Sign in to follow this  
Pete

Hello From Rotherham

Pete

Hi

I have been flying model RC planes for over 30 years with varying interests in scale sail planes, sport slope flying, power precession aerobatics, power scale and EDF jets. I have recently changed the direction of interest back to gliding where my love of this wonderful hobby began. I am currently flying both flat field (EP & aero tow) and slope (sports and Scale) but fancy having a go at F3F racing in the not too distant future. I have the following models

EP - 4m Thermik XL & 2m Hyper

Scale - Royal Models 4m ASW28-18 & Let models 3m ASW28

Slope sport - RCRCM Sunbird Typhoon Tomcat, Valentamodels Destiny, and an Aeronics Schwing.

Hope to see you on a slope one day soon

Pete    

Brett82

Welcome Pete

I'm also fairly new to F3F and can say its an absolute blast. Not only do you get the adrenaline pumping but it's also just pure and simple good old fun. Plus the guys in the leagues are really nice and you will find plenty of support. 

Never flown an RCRCM Tomcat before but I think it would probably be the best model to use when you try out F3F, that or the Typhoon. If you get hooked then there will be loads of advice from more experienced racers if you decide to get a proper F3F model. 

I think everyone on here will agree the more new flyers we get in F3F the better so don't wait too long.

Brett

Pete

Hi Brett

Thanks for the welcome.

The Tomcat would make a reasonable practice model but I don't think it has a good enough ballast capacity to be competitive. Having said that it has a good turn of speed and has given me the thirst to have a go at F3F. I will go to a couple of events over the next months to get a feel for how the events are run and in the meantime I will be on the look out for a competitive second hand introductory model.