Alan Rhodes

Repair of glass wings -help please

Alan Rhodes

Hi, I am new to BARCS but this forum was suggested by a friend as a possible source of help or information. I have crashed and significantly damaged my 2.5m glass Mach 2 slope soarer wings. Hopefully I can attach pictures. Does anyone know of or able to offer a repair service for these damaged wings please ?  I will have a go myself with the help of some Radio Carbon Art videos but if someone offers this service at a reasonable price then that is probably my better route.  Thank you. 

A011A653-4519-4D42-BC53-7065DD515D0A.jpeg

0155DC49-FDAB-4A41-8F24-9C47D00E1CB6.jpeg

115EFBCF-A7DB-4628-A977-622DD2D1E014.jpeg

CC79286D-A3E9-43D9-B0DE-B7B5EA777E43.jpeg

D83DFE35-544B-4ECB-9912-A019A85EB4E7.jpeg

15518D62-703E-47A1-9D2D-F713F7564772.jpeg

Austin

Ouch, nasty but can be reapired if there is no bad spar damage. The experts will be along shortly but welcome to the forums.

Brett82

Hi Allan 

Everyone will say it is best to do the repair yourself as it is the best way to learn and it's part of the hobby. 

I agree with that but I'm in the situation where I literally do not have anywhere to do repairs other than the kitchen counter. I'm sure you can understand how much my wife loves that...

People will post repair advice and if you have somewhere to do it then give it a shot. If not then look on Facebook for a guy named Tony Manzur. 

He posted something on one of the RC pages saying he could help with repairs. He has all the equipment needed and the time to help. He takes payments for materials and charitable contributions so isn't in it to make money.

His profile poc is of a field of poppies, the background pic is of a rc p51 mustang and he lives in London. If you can't find him let me know. 

Brett

satinet

Looks like a visit from the tree fairy.

There's two basic techniques.

1 - Cutting the damage out square and inserting (blue) foam which is then glassed over.