Modification question

beamer36m

I recently got my Toro 1m dlg and it is great but there is very little room in the pod...specifically, the fact that you have to slide everything into the point of the nose at a low angle makes getting receivers in etc tricky.

I want to get the new ar6610T when they are released but I think it will be a stretch to get it in as it currently is... my question (and remember I am a beginner to these type of models is can I safely trim off some of the pod curvature (in the pic at the bottom of the battery) or would this completely weaken the air frame?

Probably a silly question again.

The hatch is a slide on cone which covers and encloses the entire nose/pod etc so I don't think it will be a problem but 'measure twice cut once' and all that!

Toro pod.jpg

I'd say you've got two things to consider.

1. The loads when launching

2. The load on any kind of nose first impact

Normal flying loads will be small in comparison.

On launch the inner nose and cone need to support the loads caused by your spin and whatever mass you have in the nose. If you've got a massive lump of lead in there along with RX and bat then you'll have more load. Having said that, it would seem that the majority of the load is taken by the sides of the pod so probably not going to make much difference. The weakest point will be between the cutout and the servo tray so you are making that bigger but probably not enough to worry about.

A nose first impact is probably going to use the nose cone as shock absorber/crumple zone to some extent. If you hit it hard enough it'll break now anyway. You'll probably lose a bit of strength but again, there's a massive hole in the top already so loads are going through the sides and bottom. Mine broke like this (picture below) on a (hard) nose in impact. Looks like it all flexed around the more solid servo tray. I don't think removing any material at the front would have changed this. All repaired now.