Nic8

Frysky G-rx8

Nic8

A quick question,  I am thinking of buying  a Frsky G-rx8 receiver, does anyone know if the  receiver  has ipex4 connector antennas on it   ? thinking might need to put a longer one on.

Mark Evans

The clips are the same ones used on the G-RX6 and the RX4/6, not sure what name they are but they are the smaller ones. 

Edit: yeah, ipex4

Nic8

Thanks Mark

Nic8

Hi does anyone know if this receiver can produced read outs in feet, instead of meters please ?

cirrusRC

Yes,  but its handled by the Transmitter.   On my Taranis X9D,  within OpenTX from the telemetry screen for the altimeter you can change the units meters / feet.

Nic8

cheers, I am new to Taranis  and open tx.

Nic8

I now have my G-rx8, does anyone know if there is a fix to the ALT and VERIO read outs, from randomly  changing while stationary.

Plus I would like the figures to show on my telemetry page, any help please.

cirrusRC

Performs better outside vs indoors.    Can sometimes take a few minutes to stabilise based on temperate and pressure.     It will fluctuate a bit though.         These RX also suffer from a drift issue  (if you leave model on the ground for an hour,  you will likely see the alt reading slowly drift).    Most people reset the telemetry on every launch  ( mine is tied to my launch switch for DLG).   Bottom line they are not perfect - use them as a general guide.   The separate HP vario by Frsky is better but requires more space as a separate unit.

Take a look at the video here.    You can have an audible read out using a switch.  You can have vario tones  or a textual read out on the TX screen.

Nic8

Thanks,  just from a basic range test, it has far better signal strength compared to my X8R with whisker antennas. I've also sbus linked in a XM+.

FrankS
17 hours ago, Nic8 said:

I now have my G-rx8, does anyone know if there is a fix to the ALT and VERIO read outs, from randomly  changing while stationary.