Which Latex Surgical Tubing ???.

Gunnergolly

Gunnergolly

Hello

I've been flying electric gliders for about eight months now, however i have always fancied having a go at a bungee launch but couldn't due to field size restrictions.

I now have access to an airfield so have a lot more space available, i recently bought a Dynaflite Bird of time as i also wanted to have a go at flying an RE machine.

I did my first bungee launch today, followed by two more launches that also went very well with the BOT climbing nicely, unfortunately the bungee that i'm using soon runs out of "pull" even when stretched to it's limit.

I'm currently using 10 meters of 8mm "blue" hobby king latex tubing along with 30 meters of nylon string with a "chute" attached, I wanted to start small and build up gradually.

The above "short" setup was cheap, intended only to give me my first experience of bungee launching and probably achieves about 120 feet in height.

To achieve a full height launch I'm really not sure what type/size/length of bungee/string i should be using for my BOT glider.

Also my "google" searches are only bringing up short lengths of tubing, i'm maybe wanting a continuous 30 meter length of latex tubing.... are there any suppliers of long lengths of latex tubing in the UK ??.

My BOT glider is only intended as a bungee trainer glider and for a bit of "back to basics" simple fun on those calmer days. I'd prefer the replacement  bungee to be slightly overpowered for the BOT, so that it can be used on a slightly heavier glider at a later date.

Any recommendations for suppliers/suitable latex sizes and ratios of bungee to tow line would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Chris.